Hey business owners!! Volunteer. Give a litte…get so much in return!

For a business owner it’s difficult to juggle all that needs to be done. For the longest time it was easier for me to just stay self-absorbed with all the work that was right in front of me and not focus on anything else..my work and my family…that is all I felt I had time for.

Well, 3 years ago I made the decision to commit to joining a service organization. I selected Kiwanis because of children being so dear to me as I have two of my own, they are so innocent and flourish in a nurturing environment. I have come to be very grateful for this organization because of what I have received in return. Not just in meeting other community members and getting to know them better and share with them but in the personal satisfaction that I am indeed giving back to a community that has served my family well for so many years.

KiwanisKiwanis is a global organization of members of every age who are dedicated to changing the world, one child and one community at a time. There are numerous opportunities for community service projects. I have enjoyed tremendously the opportunity to tutor 1st graders in reading at a local elementary school. Some days when the hustle and bustle seems so overwhelming, taking that one hour per week to make a difference in the life of a child puts it all back in perspective. I have also been able to have my son participate in several community service projects and I can immediately see the results of impressions that were made upon him through helping others.

It was very difficult for me to figure out how I was going to juggle these added commitments, I have a hard time saying NO, but I am also not one to start something if I cannot give 100% to it. Now don’t get me wrong, there are some moments when I think “if only I didn’t need to stop what I am doing to go do this?” or “why did I accept the offer to join the Board of Directors?”. But in the end, the daily work is always there and will always be there and if I wasn’t taking moments to step away and look at the bigger picture in the world or community around me I may not be giving all that I could be to everything else I touch. Giving my best through experiencing all that volunteerism can do for your mind and spirit.

If you have ever considered joining a service organization, I encourage you to check into Kiwanis. http://sites.kiwanis.org/kiwanis/en/home.aspx If you’re in my neighborhood, let me take you to a weekly meeting sometime as a guest!

“You make a living by what you get. You make a life by what you give.”               ~Winston Churchill

About Carisa Holmes-Peters

We provide marketing support and communication services to small and midsize businesses and organizations locally and across the United States. Today, this includes marketing strategy, creative services, website development, print services, email, social media, promotional products and signage for indoor and light outdoor signage. Our services will evolve in-line with changes in the way organizations communicate with their employees, prospects and customers. Our niche is businesses with goals who do not have the in-house resources or time to achieve them and need partners who can apply innovation and best practices to help them achieve those goals cost effectively.
This entry was posted in Holmes...here to help! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

